The classification of sakés

The National Tax Agency of Japan 国税庁 divides sakés into two broad categories: the FUTSUSHU (普通酒) and the TOKUTEI MEISHOSHU (特定名称酒). The Agency divides the latter into two sub-categories: JUNMAISHU (純 米酒) and HONJOZOSHU (本 醸 造酒).

 

The FUTSUSHU (普通 酒)

First, there are the so-called ordinary sakés, the FUTSUSHU. These are the sakes that are not classified among TOKUTEI MEISHOSHU (特定 名称 酒). It is the equivalent of the table wine. And just because it's an unclassified sakés doesn't mean it's not delicious!

 

The TOKUTEI MEISHOSHU (特定名称酒)

To be classified among the TOKUTEI MEISHOSHU which represents less than 30% of all Nihonshu production,

  • Its rice must be from Shuzokotekimai 酒造好適 (sake rice recognized by the Japanese tax agency) of first quality (Ittô 一等), from special quality (Tokutô 特等) or higher special quality (Tokujo 特上);

  • The weight of the Komekoji 米麹 (rice inoculated with Koji) should represent at least 15% of the total weight of the rice used to make the sake;

  • No additives can be used;

  • For Honjozo, the weight of pure distilled alcohol added should not exceed 10% of that of the rice. And this alcohol must be of agricultural origin.

These so-called premium quality sakés are reclassified according to their degree of polishing (Seimaibuai 精米歩合) and whether or not distilled alcohol is added at the end of the fermentation process.

We thus obtain eight classes distributed among the JUNMAISHU (純米酒) and the HONJOZOSHU (本醸造酒):

TOKUTEI MEISHOSHU (特定名称酒) CLASSIFICTION TABLE

Seimaibuai 精 米 歩 合
Polishing degree

Not determined

70% or less

Water, rice, koji and yeast,

without added alcohol

Water, rice, koji and yeast,

with added alcohol

Water, rice, koji and yeast,

more than the required amount of distilled alcohol and / or
addition of other ingredients

1) Junmaishu

5) Honjozoshu

Futsushu

Ingredients

60% or less

2) Tokubetsu Junmai

3) Junmai Ginjo

6) Tokubetsu Honjozo

7) Ginjo

50% or less

4) Junmai Daiginjo

8) Daiginjo

1. The JUNMAISHU (純 米酒)

As ingredients, the Junmaishu has water, rice, koji and yeast. There is no addition of alcohol. The Seimaibuai is not regulated.

The term JUNMAISHU (純 米酒) is a generic term that includes the next three classes.

 

2. The TOKUBETSU JUNMAISHU (特別 純 米酒)

The Junmaishu have only water, rice, koji and yeast as ingredients. There is no addition of alcohol. As with GINJO, Seimaibuai (精 米 歩 合) must be 60% or less; the rice must have lost at least 40% of its mass during polishing.

It's a special category and that's exactly what TOKUBETSU stands for.
Brewers name some saké TOKUBETSU (special) rather than GINJO because it is not necessarily made to develop the particular fruity and floral aroma of GINJO. Other brewers name their sake TOKUBETSU to create a wider range of products because they sell, for example, JUNMAI GINJO with a 40% Seimaibuai and JUNMAI DAIGINJO with a 25% Seimaibuai. They add a less expensive GINJO named TOKUBETSU to their list of products.

TOKUBETSU JUNMAISHU can also refer to a saké made with only one variety of rice without the Seimaibuai being less than 60%, but in this case, the label must clearly mention the variety of rice and its use at 100%.

 

3. The JUNMAI GINJO (純 米 吟 醸)

JUNMAI GINJO's only ingredients are water, rice, koji and yeast. There is no addition of alcohol. The Seimaibuai must be 60% or less; the rice must have lost at least 40% of its mass during polishing.

 

4. The JUNMAI DAIGINJO (純 米 大 吟 醸)

JUNMAI DAIGINJO's only ingredients are water, rice, koji and yeast. There is no addition of alcohol. The Seimaibuai must be 50% or less; the rice must have lost at least 50% of its mass during polishing.

 

5. The HONJOZOSHU (本 醸 造酒)

HONJOZOSHU are made from water, rice, koji, yeast, and pure distilled alcohol is added to balance the taste after fermentation. The Seimaibuai must be 70% or less; the rice must have lost at least 30% of its mass during polishing.

The term HONJOZOSHU (本 醸 造酒) is a generic that includes the next three classes.

 

6. The TOKUBETSU HONJOZOSHU (特別 本 醸 造酒)

The Tokubetsu HONJOZOSHU are made from water, rice, koji, yeast, and pure distilled alcohol is added to balance the taste after fermentation. As with GINJO, Seimaibuai must be 60% or less; the rice must have lost at least 40% of its mass during polishing.

It's a special category and that's exactly what TOKUBETSU stands for.
Brewers name certain sakés TOKUBETSU (special) whose Seimaibuai is less than 60%, but which is not developed to develop the particular fruity and floral aroma of GINJO. Other brewers name their sake TOKUBETSU to create a wider product line because they offer, for example, a GINJO with a 40% polishing rates and a DAIGINJO with a 25% Seimaibuai. They add a less expensive GINJO named TOKUBETSU to their list of products.

TOKUBETSU HONJOZOSHU can also refer to a saké made with only one variety of rice without the Seimaibuai being less than 60%, but in this case, the label must clearly mention the variety of rice and its use at 100%.

 

7. The GINJO (吟 醸)

The GINJO are made from water, rice, koji and yeast. After fermentation, there is addition of pure distilled alcohol to enhance the taste. The Seimaibuai must be 60% or less; the rice must have lost at least 40% of its mass during polishing.

 

8. The DAIGINJO (大 吟 醸)

The DAIGINJO are made from water, rice, koji and yeast. After fermentation, pure distilled alcohol is added to balance the taste . The Seimaibuai must be 50% or less; the rice must have lost at least 50% of its mass during polishing.

Le classement des sakés

L'Agence nationale de taxation du Japon divise les sakés en deux grandes catégories : celle des FUTSUSHU (普通酒) et celle des TOKUTEI MEISHOSHU (特定名称酒). L'Agence divise cette dernière en deux  sous-catégories : JUNMAISHU (純米酒) et HONJOZOSHU (本醸造酒).

 

Les FUTSUSHU (普通酒)

D’abord, il y a les sakés dits ordinaires, les FUTSUSHU. Ce sont les sakés qui ne sont pas classés parmi les TOKUTEI MEISHOSHU (特定名称酒). C’est l’équivalent des vins de pays. Et ce n’est pas parce que c’est un saké non classé qu’il n’est pas délicieux!

 

Les TOKUTEI MEISHOSHU (特定名称酒)

Les autres sakés dits de qualité supérieure sont classés selon leur degré de polissage (Seimaibuai 精米歩合) et selon qu’on ajoute ou non de l’alcool distillé à la fin de la fermentation.

On obtient ainsi 8 classes réparties parmi les JUNMAISHU (純米酒) et les HONJOZOSHU (本醸造酒):

Tableau de classement des TOKUTEI MEISHOSHU (特定名称酒)

Seimaibuai 精米歩合
Degré de polissage

Non déterminé

70 % ou moins

Eau, riz, koji et levure,

sans ajout d’alcool

Eau, riz, koji et levure,

avec ajout d’alcool

Eau, riz, koji et levure,

plus que la quantité requise d'alcool distillé et/ou
ajout d'autres ingrédients

1) Junmaishu

5) Honjozoshu

Futsushu

Ingrédients

60 % ou moins

2) Tokubetsu Junmai

3) Junmai Ginjo

6) Tokubetsu Honjozo

7) Ginjo

50 % ou moins

4) Junmai Daiginjo

8) Daiginjo

1. Les JUNMAISHU (純米酒)

Les Junmaishu ont comme ingrédient que l’eau, le riz, le koji et la levure. Il n’y a aucun ajout d’alcool. Le Seimaibuai n’est pas règlementé.

Le terme JUNMAISHU (純米酒) est un générique qui inclut les trois prochaines classes.

 

2. Les TOKUBETSU JUNMAISHU (特別純米酒)

Les Junmaishu n'ont comme ingrédients que l’eau, le riz, le koji et la levure. Il n’y a aucun ajout d’alcool.  Comme pour le GINJO, le Seimaibuai (精米歩合) doit obligatoirement être de 60 % ou moins; le riz doit avoir perdu au moins 40 % de sa masse au polissage.

C’est une catégorie spéciale et c’est exactement ce que veut dire TOKUBETSU.
Les brasseurs nomment certains sakés TOKUBETSU (spécial) plutôt que GINJO parce qu’il n’est pas nécessairement élaboré pour développer l’arôme fruité et floral particulier des GINJO. D’autres brasseurs nomment leur saké TOKUBETSU pour créer une gamme plus vaste de produits parce qu’ils ont, par exemple, des JUNMAI GINJO avec des taux de polissage de 40 % et des JUNMAI DAIGINJO avec des taux de polissage de 25 %. Ils ajoutent à leur liste de produits offerts un GINJO moins cher nommé TOKUBETSU.

TOKUBETSU JUNMAISHU peut aussi désigner un saké élaboré qu’avec une seule variété de riz sans que le Seimaibuai soit inférieur à 60 %, mais dans ce cas, l’étiquette doit clairement mentionner la variété de riz et son usage à 100 %.

 

3. Les JUNMAI GINJO (純米吟醸)

Les JUNMAI GINJO n'ont comme ingrédients que l’eau, le riz, le koji et la levure. Il n’y a aucun ajout d’alcool. Le Seimaibuai doit obligatoirement être de 60 % ou moins; le riz doit avoir perdu au moins 40 % de sa masse au polissage.

 

4. Les JUNMAI DAIGINJO (純米大吟醸)

Les JUNMAI DAIGINJO n'ont comme ingrédients que l’eau, le riz, le koji et la levure. Il n’y a aucun ajout d’alcool.  Le Seimaibuai doit obligatoirement être de 50 % ou moins; le riz doit avoir perdu au moins 50 % de sa masse au polissage.

 

5. Les HONJOZOSHU (本醸造酒)

Les HONJOZOSHU sont élaborés à partir d’eau, de riz, de koji et de levure. Il y a ajout d’alcool distillé pur pour équilibrer le goût après la fermentation. Le Seimaibuai doit obligatoirement être de 70 % ou moins; le riz doit avoir perdu au moins 30 % de sa masse au polissage.

Le terme HONJOZOSHU (本醸造酒) est un générique qui inclut les trois prochaines classes.

 

6. Les TOKUBETSU HONJOZOSHU (特別本醸造酒)

Les TOKUBETSU HONJOZOSHU sont élaborés à partir d’eau, de riz, de koji et de levure. Il y a ajout d’alcool distillé pur  pour équilibrer le goût après la fermentation. Comme pour le GINJO, le Seimaibuai doit obligatoirement être de 60 % ou moins; le riz doit avoir perdu au moins 40 % de sa masse au polissage.

C’est une catégorie spéciale et c’est exactement ce que veut dire TOKUBETSU.
Les brasseurs nomment certains sakés TOKUBETSU (spécial) dont le Seimaibuai est inférieur à 60 %, mais qui n’est pas élaboré pour développer l’arôme fruité et floral particulier des GINJO. D’autres brasseurs nomment leur saké TOKUBETSU pour créer une gamme plus vaste de produits parce qu’ils ont, par exemple, des GINJO avec des taux de polissage de 40 % et des DAIGINJO avec des taux de polissage de 25 %. Ils ajoutent à leur liste de produits offerts un GINJO moins cher nommé TOKUBETSU.

TOKUBETSU HONJOZOSHU peut aussi désigner un saké élaboré qu’avec une seule variété de riz sans que le Seimaibuai soit inférieur à 60 %, mais dans ce cas, l’étiquette doit clairement mentionner la variété de riz et son usage à 100 %.

 

7. Les GINJO (吟醸)

Les GINJO sont élaborés à partir d’eau, de riz, de koji et de levure. Après la fermentation, il y a ajout d’alcool distillé pur pour équilibrer le goût. Le Seimaibuai doit obligatoirement être de 60 % ou moins; le riz doit avoir perdu au moins 40 % de sa masse au polissage.

 

8. Les DAIGINJO (大吟醸)

Les DAIGINJO sont élaborés à partir d’eau, de riz, de koji et de levure. Après la fermentation, il y a ajout d’alcool distillé pur pour équilibrer le goût. Le Seimaibuai doit obligatoirement être de 50 % ou moins; le riz doit avoir perdu au moins 50 % de sa masse au polissage.