Monsieur Saké, fabrication du saké, Sotembo, saké, japanese sake, importation privée, sugidama, 杉玉, boule de cèdre, fermentation.

THE MAKING OF SAKÉ

Monsieur Saké, riz, rice,  saké, japanese sake,  importation privée, semaibuai, shubo, Kirinzan

Like wine and beer, Japanese saké is an alcohol obtained by fermentation. But, in the case of saké, the process is longer and more complicated. It is this complexity that allows the Toji (master brewer) to develop nihonshu with unique aromas and flavours that can be enjoyed both cold and hot.

 

For wine, grape juice already contains the simple sugars that the yeasts will convert into alcohol. This is called simple fermentation.

vin_ANGL.png

To make alcohol from cereals (or potatoes), one must first transform their starch into simple fermentable sugars so that the yeasts can produce alcohol. For beer, barley is malted (sprouting by steeping) and, then, when the malt is heated in water, its enzymes work by transforming complex sugars (starch) into fermentable simple sugars (glucose, dextrose and maltose); it is saccharification. The yeast, in a second step, will metamorphose these sugars into alcohol. This is called successive multiple fermentation; saccharification followed by fermentation.

biere_ANGL.png

In the unique case of nihonshu, we proceed with a parallel multiple fermentation; the saccharification of the rice starch and the alcoholification of the simple sugars obtained take place at the same time in the same tank. This is because Toji uses koji (a type of mould) to saccharify and dissolve the starch in rice. And the yeast proliferates and acts at the same time as the koji creates the fermentable sugars.

sake_ANGL.png

The stages of
saké making

Fabrication du saké, brewing of sake, riz, rice, sakamai, Koshitanrei, Koshiibuki, Miyamanishiki, saké, japanese sake, semaibuai, Monsieur Saké.

Rice cultivation:

Rice varieties grown expressly for saké such as Gohyakumangoku, Koshitanrei, Koshiibuki or Miyamanishiki have grains with lower protein content and larger starch core with deeper grooves.
These varieties are called Sakamai 酒 米.

Polishing:

The rice is carefully polished to rid it of its husk of bran and much of the endosperm. The grain thus loses proteins, lipids and iron which would otherwise interfere with the solubilization, saccharification of the rice and the final taste. We keep the starch core named Shimpaku 心 白. Rice is reduced by at least 25% of its weight. Some brewers only preserve 10% of the grain!
The more polished the grain, the more the saké will have a strong aroma, delicate flavour and higher price.

riz, rice, sakamai, semaibuai, shuzo, Monsieur Saké, Koshitanrei, Koshiibuki, Miyamanishiki, saké, japanese sake

Washing and soaking:

After polishing, the rice should recover its moisture. It is first washed to get rid of the polishing residue. Then it is soaked for between one and three hours to hydrate it enough to make it penetrable by the Koji, but not too much to make it too soft and difficult to handle; also, the more it soaks, the more it loses certain minerals such as potassium and magnesium that nourish the Koji. For some varieties of rice like Omachi, or rice with a high-polishing rate, the soaking is done manually and can last between 5 and 15 minutes.

 

Steaming:

The rice is steamed for 30 to 60 minutes. The rice is then cooled and divided; while a portion is kept for the brew, a small amount will be used to prepare the Koji.

Steaming has two functions. First, it pasteurizes the grains, the Koji and the yeasts will be able to grow there all the more quickly as there will be no bacteriological competitors. Then, the cooking gelatinizes the starch; which makes it more vulnerable to the enzymatic action of Koji spores.

fabrication du saké, koji, kojimai, Kojimuro, japanese sake brewing, Monsieur Saké, importation privée

Koji (麹):

In a room called Kojimuro (麹 室) where the air is hot (35 ° or more) and very humid, the cooked and cooled rice is sprinkled with Koji spores. Mix and incubate the whole for 2 days. The term Koji designates both mould and the mass of grains inoculated by it. Most of the Koji will be used for the creation of the mother culture, the Shubo (酒母). The rest of the Kakekoji will be used to activate the brew and enrich the flavour of the saké.

The starter or the Shubo (酒母):

Polished and steamed rice, water and yeast are added to the Koji to form the starter, which will serve to start and catalyze the fermentation of the main wort.

Fabrication du saké, Shubo, Monsieur Saké, sake making, japanese sake, importation privée, Shubo, Koji, levure, yeast
Fabrication du saké, sake making, Monsieur Saké, Moromi, brassage du saké, japanese sake making, importation privée, moromi, yeast, levure, yamahai, koji.

Fermentation of the main wort, Moromi:

In a large vat, steamed rice, water and Kakekoji are added to the Shubo (the starter). The addition of these ingredients is done in three stages spread over several days; at each stage, we double the quantity of ingredients already added. At the beginning, it is as if we were doubling the mother culture. After a good proliferation of yeasts, on two occasions, the volume of the wort is increased. Thus, the yeast concentration always remains high preventing contamination of the brew (Moromi) by wild yeasts or other unwanted microorganisms.

Pressing and Filtration:

The Moromi is passed through a press in which the liquid is separated from the dregs. Then it is filtered.

 

Pasteurization:

Saké is normally pasteurized at 65 ° to kill yeast and neutralize enzymes that could alter flavours.

 

Maturation:

The saké rests between 30 and 90 days in a maturation tank. Some are even aged for a few years.

After this step, there is normally a second pasteurization and packaging for sale.

If for wine the terroir can be important, for saké, the environment of the factory plays a decisive role.
You will understand that in the first place, the quality of the water source is crucial. And since the brewing is done in open tanks, the temperature and the air quality add to the variables which generate a great diversity among the sakés.

One can understand that the purity of the water source is crucial. And since the brewing is done in open vats, temperature and air quality add to the variables that create great diversity among sakes.

For saké, even though the ingredient list is limited to water, rice, koji and yeast, the complexity and length of the process allows the Toji to compose unique aromas and flavours. Although the taste and aromatic potential of the rice used are certainly expressed in the saké, certain flavours and aromas are more determined by the purity of the water, by the choice of koji and yeast, by the know-how of Toji and by the thoroughness of the kurabito (artisans of the saké factory).

Monsieur Saké, fabrication du saké, Sotembo, saké, japanese sake, importation privée, sugidama, 杉玉, boule de cèdre, fermentation.

LA FABRICATION DU SAKÉ

Monsieur Saké, riz, rice,  saké, japanese sake,  importation privée, semaibuai, shubo, Kirinzan

Comme le vin et la bière, le saké japonais est un alcool obtenu par fermentation. Mais, dans le cas du saké, le processus est plus long et plus compliqué. C’est cette complexité qui permet au toji (maitre-brasseur) d’élaborer des nihonshu aux arômes et aux saveurs uniques qui se dégustent aussi bien froids que chauds.

 

Pour le vin, le jus de raisin contient déjà les sucres simples que les levures convertiront en alcool. C’est ce qu’on appelle la fermentation simple.

vin.png

Pour faire de l’alcool à partir de céréales (ou de pommes de terre), on doit d’abord transformer leur amidon en sucres simples fermentescibles pour que les levures puissent produire de l’alcool. Pour la bière, l’orge est maltée (germination par trempage) et, ensuite, lorsque le malt est chauffé dans l’eau, ses enzymes agissent en transformant les sucres complexes (amidon) en sucres simples fermentescibles (glucose, dextrose et maltose); c’est la saccharification. Les levures, dans un deuxième temps, métamorphoseront ces sucres en alcool. C’est ce qu’on appelle la fermentation multiple successive; la saccharification suivit de la fermentation.

biere.png

Dans le cas unique du nihonshu, on procède avec une fermentation multiple parallèle; la saccharification de l’amidon du riz et l’alcoolification des sucres simples obtenus ont lieu en même temps dans la même cuve. C’est que les toji utilisent le koji (un type de moisissure) pour saccharifier et solubiliser l’amidon du riz. Et les levures prolifèrent et agissent au fur et à la mesure que le koji crée les sucres fermentescibles.

sake.png

Les étapes de la
fabrication du saké

Fabrication du saké, brewing of sake, riz, rice, sakamai, Koshitanrei, Koshiibuki, Miyamanishiki, saké, japanese sake, semaibuai, Monsieur Saké.

Culture du riz :

Les variétés de riz cultivées expressément pour le saké telles que le Gohyakumangoku, le Koshitanrei, Koshiibuki ou le Miyamanishiki ont des grains dont la teneur en protéines est plus faible et dont le cœur d’amidon est plus gros avec des sillons plus profonds.
Ces variétés sont appelées Sakamai 酒米.

Polissage :

Le riz est soigneusement poli pour le débarrasser de son enveloppe de son et une bonne partie de l’endosperme. Le grain perd ainsi des protéines, des lipides et du fer qui autrement interféreraient avec la solubilisation, la saccharification du riz et le goût final. On conserve que le cœur d’amidon nommé Shimpaku 心白. Le riz est diminué au moins de 25 % de son poids. Certains brasseurs ne préservent que 10 % du grain!
Plus le grain est poli, plus le saké aura un arôme puissant, une saveur délicate et un prix élevé.

riz, rice, sakamai, semaibuai, shuzo, Monsieur Saké, Koshitanrei, Koshiibuki, Miyamanishiki, saké, japanese sake

Lavage et trempage :

Après le polissage, le riz doit récupérer son humidité. Il est d'abord lavé pour le débarrasser des résidus du polissage. Ensuite, il est mis à tremper entre une et trois heures pour l'hydrater assez pour le rendre pénétrable par le koji, mais pas trop pour le rendre trop mou et difficilement maniable; aussi, plus il trempe, plus il perd certains minéraux comme le potassium et le magnésium qui nourrissent le koji. Pour certaines variétés de riz comme l'Omachi, ou les riz dont le taux de polissage est élevé, le trempage est fait manuellement et peut durer entre 5 et 15 minutes.

 

Étuvage :

Le riz est ensuite étuvé de 30 à 60 minutes. Le riz est refroidi puis divisé; alors qu’une partie est conservée pour le brassin, une petite quantité servira à la préparation du Koji.

L’étuvage a deux fonctions. D’abord, il pasteurise les grains, le Koji et les levures pourront y croître d’autant plus vite qu’il n’y aura pas de concurrents bactériologiques. Ensuite, la cuisson gélatinise l’amidon; ce qui le rend plus vulnérable à l’action enzymatique des spores de Koji.

fabrication du saké, koji, kojimai, Kojimuro, japanese sake brewing, Monsieur Saké, importation privée

Koji (麹) :

Dans une pièce appelée Kojimuro (麹室) où l’air est chaud (35° ou plus) et très humide, on saupoudre sur le riz cuit et refroidi des spores de Koji. On mélange et laisse incuber le tout pendant 2 jours. Le terme Koji désigne aussi bien la moisissure que l’amas de grains inoculés par celle-ci. La plus grande partie du Koji servira à la création de la culture mère, le Shubo (酒母). Le reste le Kakekoji servira à activer le brassin et enrichir la saveur du saké. 

Le pied de cuve ou le Shubo (酒母) : 

Du riz poli et étuvé, de l’eau et des levures sont ajoutés au Koji pour former une culture mère, le pied de cuve, qui sert à partir et catalyser la fermentation du mout principal.

Fabrication du saké, Shubo, Monsieur Saké, sake making, japanese sake, importation privée, Shubo, Koji, levure, yeast
Fabrication du saké, sake making, Monsieur Saké, Moromi, brassage du saké, japanese sake making, importation privée, moromi, yeast, levure, yamahai, koji.

Fermentation du moût principal, le Moromi :

Dans une grande cuve, au Shubo (le pied de cuve), on ajoute du riz poli et étuvé, de l’eau et du Kakekoji. L’addition de ces ingrédients se fait en trois étapes réparties sur plusieurs jours; à chacune d’elles, on double la quantité des ingrédients déjà ajoutés. Au départ, c’est comme si on doublait la culture mère. Après une bonne prolifération des levures, à deux occasions, on augmente le volume du moût. Ainsi, la concentration des levures demeure toujours élevée, évitant une contamination du brassin (Moromi) par des levures sauvages ou autres microorganismes non désirés.

Pressage et Filtration :

Le Moromi est passé dans une presse dans laquelle le liquide est séparé de la lie. Ensuite, il est filtré.

 

Pasteurisation :

Le saké est normalement pasteurisé à 65° pour tuer les levures et neutraliser les enzymes qui pourraient altérer les saveurs.

 

Maturation :

Le saké repose entre 30 et 90 jours dans une cuve de maturation. Certains sont même vieillis quelques années.

Après cette étape, il y a normalement une seconde pasteurisation et le conditionnement pour la vente.

Si pour le vin le terroir peut être important, pour le saké, l’environnement de la fabrique joue un rôle décisif.


Vous comprendrez que la qualité de la source d’eau est cruciale. Et comme le brassage se fait dans des cuves ouvertes, la température et la qualité de l’air ajoutent aux variables qui engendrent une grande diversité parmi les sakés.

Pour la fabrication du vin, étant donnée la fermentation simple, les qualités et le caractère du raisin ont une influence indéniable sur le goût du produit final.

Pour le saké, même si la liste des ingrédients se limite à l’eau, le riz, le koji et la levure, la complexité et la longueur du processus permettent au toji de composer des arômes et des saveurs uniques. Bien que les potentiels gustatif et aromatique du riz utilisé s’expriment assurément dans le saké, certains saveurs et parfums sont davantage déterminés par la pureté de l'eau, par le choix du koji et des levures, par le savoir-faire du toji et par la minutie des kurabito (artisans de la fabrique de saké).